Search the Trademark Learning Center

What is the European Union Trademark (EUTM)?

The European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) administers the EU trademark (EUTM). An EUTM is a pending or formal registration of a trademark recognized across the entire EU community rather than acknowledged country by country. The mark holder does not have to reside in a member country to apply for the EUTM.

The countries that support this community registration are in the European Union, namely; Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

EUTMs, like their national counterparts, protect the property rights of their owners. Their administration and processing are less expensive than a national trademark for each member country.

All rights reserved Copyright © 2001